Fun Link Friday: Nihon Eiho (日本泳法)

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 9.11.40 PM.png

When I lived in Japan, I rediscovered my love of swimming. Tom Baker of Tokyo Tom Baker, also a swimmer, recently posted about his discovery of Nihon Eihô (日本泳法), Japanese swimming techniques:

Not long ago, a member of my sports club noticed that I was swimming sidestroke in the pool. He was curious enough to ask how it was that a foreigner had learned 古式泳法 koshiki eiho. This was a term that I had never heard before, but he told me it’s the way samurai used to swim. The term literally means “ancient way of swimming.”

Check out his post, which includes an English-language video on these techniques, their history, and contemporary competitions.

About LM

Musings on geekery and gender with a Japan focus.
This entry was posted in culture, fun links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

